Giant step into The Ultra World

ULTRA MARATHON – KINTYRE WAY ULTRA

That’s crazy. A lot of people think marathons are crazy however stepping up to Ultra marathons takes it to a whole new level.

35.5 miles….all at once?
Yes, all at once, but there are aid stations to refill hydration systems, get more food, manage first aid stations, etc. And it’s okay to walk parts of it!

Why???

Where do I begin….
After years of suffering from a foot injury having to find ways to manage the pain, counteracting compensating injuries and ensuring I do not over train my foot (preventing flare ups). I eventually established the best way forward for me was to reduce the amount of runs I do weekly.
Substituting these runs with Hiit training/bootcamps/circuit training/strength and conditioning which allows me to keep up the high intensity and work on my strength and endurance. I still get my long run in weekly but less short runs (normally 2 other runs).
As a result, my running speed has been greatly affected, I am much slower. However my strength/endurance has improved massively and I get very few problems with my foot. I can run forever. I’ve learned to be less competitive and appreciate whatever challenge I am doing. I’m no longer hung up about times, to me, that’s not what it’s all about!! Don’t get me wrong I am the most competitive person in it (ask my husband we even fall out with the kids at Monopoly). I just have to pinch myself every so often I never ever thought I would be achieving what I am. Every running step I take I am grateful, ‘I am actually doing this and I love it’. Who would have thought it?

Result Result Result!!!

Having completed several marathons over the last couple of years I decided to take the giant leap into the Ultra World.
Was it possible to run further that the marathon distance (26.2 miles)?
Did I have it in me?
Would my body cope?
Could I convince my friend Trudy to join me? (I have to say this may have been my toughest challenge ha ha!)
All of these thoughts bouncing around my wee brain I took the bull by the horn and decided YES let’s get this done!!
I believe in my own abilities, I know if I set my mind to this commit to the training and with my amazing supporting family, who continually support and encourage my crazy challenges. I will give it my best shot.

TRAINING

The training for the ultra was not dramatically different to my marathon training plan. The mileage increased in my long run and I designed my plan to have a back to back run every week (after my long run). So the day after my long run I would get my tired legs back out running for at least an hour. This would allow me to get used to running with heavy tired legs. This develops the mental side of the ultra, finding ways to help you get you through these tough days. Believe me as the miles increased it got tougher and tougher. In training, my longest training run was 26 miles I had hoped to get out and do 28 miles but time was an issue. The 16 weeks training is intense it eats into all of the free time you have. You have less time to spend with family/friends, you are constantly thinking about your next run (how far, when I can squeeze it in, omg is that a cold coming on, what’s the weather going to be like and so on). Plus on the back to back days I would be walking around feeling a combination of jetlag and being hung-over. So I apologise to anyone who met me on these days.

OOOps I’ve just realised I’m not really selling this !!

All that aside, the highs definitely beat the lows. When you finish your long runs realising every step you’re taking is getting you that one step closer to achieving the impossible and fulfilling and smashing your goals.
So yes ask anyone, there are tough times in marathon training, but crossing that line outweighs all of it. The sense of achievement, elation and relief you feel is the best feeling ever!!

HURDLES

The hardest part of the training for me was the fuelling. After being put off of gels for life running New York Marathon I had to find something else. Eventually I found ‘Tailwind’; I still cannot believe how great this is. I also trained using shot bloks which worked right up until my last training run (I think I may have sickened myself of them as they are very sweet). My biggest challenge was to be able to run and eat, I was rubbish at this and it either gave me stomach pains or an emergency dash to the nearest loo. I continually tried to improve this, but it was a struggle. I’m not the best eater and I generally after I run I am hours before I can eat. But I did my research and tried lots of different things to see what I could stomach. It came down to rice cakes (with a bit of salt), water melon, coconut protein bar, soreen loaf and flat coke, tomato juice (not all at the same time of course or you would have found me having a nana nap half way round my race, due to my full belly).

RACE DAY

I chose a race that was close to home ‘Kintyre Way Ultra’. I had previously run in the relay in 2015 with the Inveraray Jog Scotland Group, this was an amazing experience. I had done the shorter route which is quite technical as you have to clamber over rocks and there are steep hills up and down, like a fool I thought this was probably the toughest but shortest leg. Oh boy how I was wrong. It was always my plan to get down and cover some of the route in my training, but unfortunately that little problem of TIME.

Race Morning – early morning we picked up Trudy and headed to the start line at Tayinloan. The village hall was full of runners all raring to go there were ultra-runners and relay runners. The event was very well organised, we registered got out numbers. Watching the professional ultra-runners was very knowledgeable, folding your numbers so that they are small enough to pin onto your shorts was the best tip of the day, thank you Ralphy Hill. It was now real, there was no going back.
Ultra Runners are a friendly bunch and everyone was chatty and there was a great buzz at the start line. There were a couple of runners with their dogs (just after the start one dog had to stop to do its business which made us all smile).
And we were off, the noise of cow bells ringing as we made our way onto the stretch across the beach, which was stunning. Then we started our climb into what I would describe as our race to the clouds, beacuse the hills were so steep.
Nothing prepared me for the hills, hills and more hills. Anyone who knows me will appreciate that I really do love hills but some of these felt like mountains. Our race plan was to walk the hills (as that was allowed in ultras). Again I did not expect there to be so many hills which prevented us from getting a momentum going. The steep climb at the beginning was windy where the dust was gusting in our faces so it was head down and get on with it. Once you got to the top the scenery was simply stunning you could see for miles. Even running past the wind turbines felt good (or was this because it was flat). Trudy and I had a great catch up on all of our recent events, we laughed we moaned at the hills we even managed to take a wrong turning. We felt good and that was the main thing
The first leg was 16 miles which took us into Carradale. Steve, Rhia and my dad would be waiting for us so I was looking forward to seeing their wee faces. I would also be able to get my 1st bag drop which had watermelon, shotbloks, protein bar, banana, coke. Running down into the check point was great Rhia (my biggest supporter) came running up with a beaming smile and ran me in. I got sorted had a bit of water melon (all I could stomach). As we were preparing to head off I took a sip of coke which still had fizz in it. Not my best ideas, as I now had a discomfort in my chest, but like a trooper I tried to ignore it.

Leg 2 started across Carradale bay wow wow wow what a beautiful place, the route took us over rocks which were a scramble but we kept our sense of humour and embraced the rocks. Actually the climb kind of stretched off our legs and glutes so it was all good. We then headed up steep hill, this was tough it was hot there was no wind and our legs were tired. When I did this leg 2 years ago I flew up the hill….erm not this time these wee legs were having none of it. This was tough, as we got to the top the front cyclists (who were doing the cycle ultra) were coming up the hill. This was a reality check as I was grateful I was running and not cycling.
This was definitely the mentally toughest stretch for me, the pain in my chest was still bugging me so I decided to play the mind games and the imagery that I am always telling our running group to do kicked in (and it worked).
The last part into Ifferdale was all downhill, a very technical downhill. It jarred your tired legs and for me my I sadly lost one of my toe nails. Did you feel sorry for me there or did you screw your face up at the thought? (Runners you know what I’m saying).

Check point 2 boy I was glad to get here again I struggled to eat anything I put a banana in Trudy’s bag and took some tomato juice, water and a bite of soreen loaf a quick toilet stop and we were off again.
The chat came back and we battled through the next leg, the hard work was kicking in and it was tough but together we helped each other around and when in doubt we laughed it out. This leg was not as hilly but it was up and down and certainly kept us on our toes. By this point a few cyclists were passing, some very pleasant others suffering from road rage. We were getting to the delirious stage so we found this highly amusing. We battled on, one foot in front of the other. Well, maybe more like a shuffle shuffle shuffle.

As we were coming into the water station at Lussa Loch we caught sight of a van taking photos (of course we love a camera and quickly went into a fast sprint- just for the photo then back to shuffling). We got chatting and were told we had supporters waiting for us at the water station. This was great as it is always great to see supporters; it’s amazing how this motivates you. After trying to entice the driver to get us a bottle of prosecco and drive slowly with it so we could chase after it (see imagery)- he was having none of it. So we plodded onto the water station. As we were getting closer I could see a crowd of people (no glasses on so I could not make them out) however as we got closer my wee lady came running out towards us to run in with us. At this point I spotted my wonderful friends from our SOS running group who had all travelled miles to support me. I was totally overwhelmed and girls what a boost you all gave me. Steve you’re the best, thank you for organising. Lots of cuddles and a leg rub from Tina later we were back on the road. Only 10k to go, the longest 10k on earth. This was tough we were delving into our mental and physical stores, we were still chatted as no matter what we don’t stop chatting, but there was a silence there too, we just wanted it to be over. The cycle race went a different route at this point so we were on our own again, no mad mental men shouting at us. We relaxed knew we just needed to get our heads down and get the job done. And thats we did.

Homeward straight

As we came onto the main road we were just about there, one foot in front of the other that’s all we had to do. Surprisingly we managed to pick up our pace and make our way to the finish line. The town was busy cars tooting at us and people walking about (even my sister managed to spray us with her garden hose as we passed). As we approached the finish the realisation started to kick in, we had done this it was nearly over. We grabbed each other’s hand and crossed that finish line, with a smile from ear to ear. Our amazing support team were at the finish line cheering us in.
What a feeling all the hard work had been worth it. It was tough but we did this together, we had laughs (thankfully no cries) we chatted, we helped each other to achieve the amazing accomplishment we are now ULTRA MARATHONERS.

Thank you Trudy!to think we actually ran 36.5 miles

So what’s next?

Lots of exciting things..I’ll keep you all updated.
Thanks for reading

Gail

img_3529

Leave a comment